American Geophysical Union hosts science journalism awards [Worldwide]

Posted on Mar 6, 2023 in Specialized Topics

Journalists who covered science can enter this contest.

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) offers three science journalism awards.

The David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism - News seeks Earth and space science news reporting generally produced under deadline pressure of one week or less.

The Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism - Features accepts features on Earth and space science generally produced with deadlines of longer than one week.

The Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism is given to journalists who have made significant, lasting, outstanding and consistent contributions to Earth and space science journalism. Self-nominations are accepted.

Works for the news and features awards must have been published or broadcast in 2022. Entries must be in English or include an English translation.

All winners will receive a trip to attend the AGU Fall Meeting and more. The winners of the news and features awards will also receive US$5,000.

The deadline is April 12.