Eight worldwide journalism fellowships to apply for in 2016

by IJNet
Oct 30, 2018 in Journalism Basics

Now’s the perfect time of year to be applying to some of the world’s most prestigious journalism fellowships. However, completing these applications can be an arduous, time-consuming task. To make sure you don’t miss any crucial deadlines, it’s essential to start preparing ahead of time.

So if you’re on the lookout for the fellowship that will kick-start your career, keep these eight opportunities — and their deadlines — in mind:

Reuters Journalism Fellowship Program Deadline: Jan. 31, 2016

The Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at Oxford University hosts fellows for three, six or nine months. The program’s 25 fellows will research and explore topics regarding the business of journalism, journalism’s continuing evolution and the relationship between journalism and accountability. Prospective applicants should have at least five years’ professional journalism experience and English fluency. For more information, click here.

Knight-Wallace Journalism Fellowship Deadline: Feb. 1, 2016

This fellowship allows six international and 12 American journalists to complete one year of study at the University of Michigan. Fellows will craft a personalized plan of study and will attend twice-weekly seminars focusing on journalism and academia. In addition to a US$70,000 stipend, fellows’ travel and tuition costs are also covered. Applicants must have at least five years' experience in journalism. For more information, click here.

Joan Shorenstein Center Fellowship at Harvard Deadline: Feb. 1, 2016

The Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government is accepting applications for the Joan Shorenstein Center Fellowship. Fellows receive a US$30,000 stipend to research and expand public policy and political affairs. Applicants must be journalists, scholars or policymakers with at least five years of experience. English fluency is required. For more information, click here.

World Press Institute Fellowships Deadline: Feb. 15, 2016

Non-U.S. journalists with at least five years’ experience in print, online or broadcast media can apply for this fellowship. From mid-August 2016 to mid-October, you’ll develop your knowledge of American journalism and report on a variety of social issues. For more information, click here.

The Fellowship in Global Journalism Deadline: Feb. 19, 2016

The Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto is seeking aspiring journalists with expert knowledge of complex topics for its Fellowship in Global Journalism. Participants will be mentored by a professional journalist while freelancing for major media outlets and attending journalism courses and lectures. Fellows will graduate in April 2017 with a certificate in global journalism, and will continue to receive free coaching for two years after graduating. For more information, click here.

Knight Science Journalism Fellowships at MIT Deadline: Feb. 29, 2016

International and U.S. journalists with at least three years' experience covering science, technology, the environment or medicine can apply for this nine-month fellowship. Each fellow creates his or her own plan of study, auditing courses at MIT and Harvard, attending lectures, undergoing digital media trainings and interviewing faculty members. Fellows receive a stipend of US$70,000, tuition and benefits. For more information, click here.

Knight-Bagehot Fellowships Deadline: March 1, 2016

The Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism is accepting applications from experienced journalists for its Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics and Business Journalism. During this year-long fellowship, you will strengthen your knowledge of business, economics and finance. Fellows receive free tuition to take courses at Columbia's graduate schools of journalism, business, law and international affairs, as well as a US$55,000 stipend. For more information, click here.

Data Journalism Awards Deadline: April 10, 2016

Organized by the Global Editors’ Network, the Data Journalism Awards 2016 will recognize the highest-quality data journalism in the world. Each of its 12 category winners will receive a EUR1,000 prize, with the awards given out at Vienna City Hall during the sixth annual GEN Summit this June. For more information, click here.

Get updated deadlines on journalism opportunities every week by subscribing to our free newsletter.

Main image CC-licensed by Flickr via clive darra.