Harvard competition highlights investigative journalism [US]

Posted on Nov 23, 2021 in Investigative Journalism

Investigative journalists can apply for an award.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard is accepting entries for the Worth Bingham Prize, which honors investigative reporting of stories of national significance where the public interest is being ill-served.

These stories may involve state, local or national government, lobbyists or the press itself wherever there exists an "atmosphere of easy tolerance" that Worth Bingham described in his reporting on the nation's capital.

Submissions must have been published in a U.S. newspaper or magazine or on the newspaper or magazine’s website during the 2020 calendar year. Web-based news organizations may also submit entries. No broadcast-only entries are allowed.

The winner will receive US$20,000.

Submissions must be accompanied by a US$50 entry fee.

The deadline is Jan. 21, 2022.