Courage in photojournalism contest open [Worldwide]

Courage in photojournalism contest open [Worldwide]

Posted on December 13, 2016


March 01, 2017

Women photojournalists who reported in dangerous environments can be nominated for an award.

The International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award honoring AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus, who was killed in Afghanistan in April 2014. 

The award recognizes women photojournalists whose work reflect the courage and dedication of Niedringhaus, and who exhibit extraordinary strength of character, bravery and perseverance in documenting the world.

Nominations must be in English and include 10 photographs that best represent the scope and style of their candidate’s work. 

The winner will receive a cash prize of US$20,000 and be honored at a ceremony in June in Washington.

The deadline is March 1, 2017. Self-nominations will be accepted.

For more information, click here.