Journalism contest accepting submissions [Uganda]

Journalism contest accepting submissions [Uganda]

Posted on November 21, 2016


January 15, 2017

Professional and freelance journalists working in Uganda can apply.

The African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) is accepting nominees for the Uganda National Journalism Awards, which recognize excellence in reporting and promote quality journalism in the country.

The categories include: arts and culture; investigative reporting; agriculture; justice, law and order; business, finance and economics; health; data journalism; local reporting; editorial cartooning; multimedia storytelling; energy, oil, gas and mining; national news reporting (two awards for best print and broadcast reports); environment; photojournalism; explanatory reporting; political reporting; feature writing; sports; and education reporting.

ACME is accepting work published or broadcast in 2016. All local language entries must be accompanied by full translations in English.

The winner and first runner-up of each category will receive a cash prize and a commemorative plaque and certificate.

The deadline is Jan. 15, 2017.

For more information, click here.