FRIDA program seeks innovative projects [Latin America]

FRIDA program seeks innovative projects [Latin America]

Posted on June 01, 2017


June 23, 2017

Civil society innovators, governmental agencies, academic departments and entrepreneurs can apply for this program.

The Latin America and Caribbean Network Information Center (LACNIC)'s Regional Fund for Digital Innovation in Latin America and the Caribbean (FRIDA, in Spanish) will provide opportunities for strengthening the capacities and networking of civil society organizations, businesses, governments and universities that work to articulate the potential of information technologies and communication in the region.

The FRIDA program consists of awards and grants:

The FRIDA Awards will recognize innovative practices that have made a concrete contribution to social and economic development. Two winners will be selected in 2017. For the first prize, applications will be accepted in three categories: internet development; internet and participation; and technologies and community. The second prize will be for women-led projects that promote gender equality through technology.

The FRIDA Grants will provide US$20,000 to one research project or initiative that seeks to explore the potential of information and communication technologies to promote social and economic development as well as internet access.

The deadline to apply is June 23.

For more information, click here.