Contest recognizes LGBT reporting [US]

Contest recognizes LGBT reporting [US]

Posted on March 13, 2017


March 27, 2017

Print, broadcast and online journalists who covered LGBT issues can compete for an award.

The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association (NLGJA) is accepting entries for its 2017 Excellence in Journalism Awards. 

The contest has 30 categories, ranging from investigative journalism, book writing, photojournalism, sports writing, student journalism and travel writing to blogging, column writing, local television and podcasts.

Works must have been published or broadcast in 2016. The Journalist of the Year Award is not restricted to coverage of LGBTQ issues.

The awards will be presented at the NLGJA National Convention Sept. 7 to 10 in Philadelphia. The winner of the Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism will receive US$2,500.

The deadline is March 27. There is a US25 fee per entry for NLGJA members and US$40 per entry for non-members.

For more information, click here.