Competition open for Pulitzer Prizes in journalism [US]

Competition open for Pulitzer Prizes in journalism [US]

Posted on December 14, 2016


January 25, 2017

Journalists who work for newspapers or websites in the United States that publish at least weekly can win a cash prize.

The Pulitzer Prize in journalism is awarded to stories that represent high journalistic standards and excellence.

Entries may include text, video, multimedia and other visual storytelling methods. The contest has 14 categories - breaking news, investigative, explanatory, local, national, international, commentary, criticism, editorial writing, public service, cartoon, breaking news photography, feature photography and feature writing.

Each category winner will receive US$15,000 cash prize -- a US$5,000 raise from last year -- except for public service, whose winner will receive a gold medal.

Team entries are acceptable, but only five individuals are allowed on each team. Magazines, broadcast media or their respective websites are not eligible.

The deadline is Jan. 25, 2017. There is a US$50 entry fee.

For more information, click here.