2018 Online Journalism Awards launched [Worldwide]

2018 Online Journalism Awards launched [Worldwide]

Posted on May 14, 2018


June 07, 2018

Online journalists, digital news organizations and students worldwide can apply for an award.

The Online News Association (ONA) is accepting entries for the 2018 Online Journalism Awards recognizing excellence in digital reporting.

Award categories include breaking news; excellence and innovation in visual digital storytelling; audio digital storytelling; immersive storytelling; explanatory reporting; feature; technical innovation in the service of digital journalism; online journalism; public service; online commentary; planned news/events; student journalism; sports; innovation in investigative journalism; investigative data journalism; and topical reporting.

This year will also feature a new collaboration and partnerships category, a micro newsroom size category for the general excellence award and refined criteria for the explanatory, feature, breaking news and visual digital storytelling categories.

The awards offer more than US$50,000 in prize money, including US$15,000 for two awards for investigative data journalism.

Awards will be given at the Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet Sept. 13 to 15, in Austin, Texas. The OJAs, launched in 2000, are a comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism. You can view a list of the 2017 winners here

Entries must have published between  June 2, 2017 and May 31, 2018.  Although English translations are strongly recommended, works may be submitted in any language. 

The deadline is June 7. The entry fee is US$100 for ONA members, US$175 for non-members, US$15 for student members and US$50 for student non-members.

For more information on how to enter, click here.